trans community awards 2019

Pink Advocate contributors among Trans Community Awards nominees

Pink Advocate editor Jesse Jones has been nominated in Queensland’s upcoming Trans Community Awards, along with two other contributors to the magazine.

Jones is a finalist for Trans Activist/Advocate of the Year for amplifying trans voices and issues in the magazine, as well as his work behind the scenes and in his community health roles to support trans people.

Also nominated are health worker Samson Naylor, disability activist Anabelle Oxley, community organiser Jade Mirabito, DJ Rebecca Bateman, support worker Evie Ryder, retired doctor Fran Mulcahy, and community educator Naavikaran.

Run by community group Many Genders One Voice, this year’s Trans Community Awards will be held online on Sunday 15 November.

The nominees for Non-Binary Activist/Advocate of the year include Pink Advocate contributors Rae White and River Capra.

Also nominated for the award are Navin Jayasekera, Petra Jade, and Billie Stimpson.

Community support worker Capra said that having been nominated elicited “an interesting duality of emotions”.

“On one hand, it’s lovely to feel seen and acknowledged,” she said.

“But on another, I’m wary of elevating one person’s contributions above any others.

“There’s a lot of feelings about imposter syndrome that come up for me, but it’s really nice to know that people see the efforts I make to support my community.”

Poet White said that the awards are important for the community and the visibility of trans folks.

“I strive to be a non-binary advocate in the artistic community so that folks, especially younger writers, know they have the creative tools and the strength to be whoever they want to be,” they said.

In the category of Rural Trans Activist/Advocate of the Year, the nominees are Sharm Giles of Cairns, Zee Parks of Gympie, Kelly Jones of the Gold Coast, Max Mackenzie of Cairns, and Emily Wells of Mount Isa.

The nominees for Young Trans Person of the Year are Theresa-John Jones, Nina Laksada, Aiden McWhirter, and Lucien Robertson.

Service Provider of the Year finalists are personal training and wellness centre Bodysync Co., Open Doors Youth Service, sex worker organisation Respect Inc, suicide prevention program QSpace, the Queensland Children’s Hospital Gender Service, and the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital Gender Clinic.

In the running for Medical/Health Professional of the Year are doctors Graham Nielsen, Fiona Bisshop, Arun Menon, and Stuart Aitken.

The Ally of the Year nominees are youth advocate Fanny Barlow, counsellor Natasha Turner, psychologist Belinda Birtles, health promotion officer Rhondda Lewis, and social support group organiser Jenny Cooper.

Representing a range of social, advocacy, and support groups, the finalists for Trans Group of the Year are the Gold Coast Trans & Non-Binary Group, Many Genders One Voice Far North Queensland, Queensland Transgender Network, Wendybird, Jellybeans, Australian Transgender Support Association of Queensland (ATSAQ), and Tea Time.

The nominees for Event of the Year are the Gold Coast Trans & Non-Binary Community BBQs, ATSAQ Christmas Luncheon, International Non-Binary Day, Wendybird regular events, and ATSAQ monthly luncheons.

Voting for the Trans Community Awards is open now until 1 November.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s